Labor Day 2023-edition show and tell

It’s been a long time since I’ve done a post asking to see what people have been making. Tell us about your projects!

2 Likes

To get things started. I just finished this little owl mosaic. Backing board cut with our table saw, and edges finished off with the sanders

Most of the stones came from travels, and the blue is shrinky dink

16 Likes

I just “completed” this cabinet that I’ve been working on and off for the last two years (yikes!). Many hard lessons were learned… Glad its over :slight_smile:

20 Likes

It’s pretty much impossible to follow @atwatsoniii 's :exploding_head: cabinet with anything but here goes:

Having wrapped up the vase that consumed so much of my time, I wanted to do something I could actually finish in a day:

Yes, that’s a Yugo keychain. I don’t have one, but my family is from the former Yugoslavia so I made a few for us to hang on our Nissan and Honda keychains :smiley:

The badge is a few vinyl cutouts that I domed with UV-cured resin for protection, all of it wrapped up in saddle-stitched, highly uncooperative leather. It’s a bit rougher than I’d like, but then again so was the Yugo…

12 Likes

Awesome these came out nice!

2 Likes

@atwatsoniii Very nice work! I am impressed with the grain work on the drawer fronts especially.

2 Likes

@stepho Very nice. Is this part of a kit or all your work? I seem to recall similar artwork projects when I was a kid in the 70’s.

1 Like

Quality looks really good to me!

1 Like

All my work! The personal challenge was to only use things I already had, and buy nothing new (which is why I landed on shrinky dink for the blue).

2 Likes

Not finished, but my robot is starting to come together. The shoulder and elbow joints move now

14 Likes

5 Likes

Thanks for the kind words, but you tagged the wrong person for that amazing cabinet :smiley:

1 Like