Help With Chair Project - Hand Plane?

I’m relatively new to woodworking and looking for advice or help on a project.

The project is a lounge chair that includes a slatted seat and back panels attached with a miter joint. I cut both panels to equal width on the table saw, but when I glued them up, the joint was offset by about 1/32". The next step in the project is to attach a side frame to the panels, but because of the offset, there would be a 1/32" gap between the side frame and the panels (at the seat panel on one side, and the back panel on the other side). The offset was small enough that I thought careful sanding with a random orbital sander might fix the offset, but I still have a gap (still about 1/32" but now less even due to the sanding) between the side frame and the panels.

Does anyone have advice on the best way to get the edges of the panels back to flat while keeping the two edges parallel to each other? I thought some kind of hand plane (jointer plane or jack plane?) might be the best option, but I haven’t done much hand planning and it seems like I could easily make the problem worse if I don’t do it right.

Would anyone with more woodworking experience be willing to take a look with me in the shop? I’m happy to pay for an hour or so of coaching if that would make a difference.

Can you attach a picture to help visualize what you’re talking about?

Finished Chair Drawings
Seat Glue Up
Seat Side Panels

Here are some images to help describe the issue.

1. Photo of the miter glue up, showing the 2 panels that were cut to the exact same width, but then offset by 1/32" along the mitered edge during the glue up by mistake.

2. Drawing showing how the side frames (red) attach to the bottom and back panel. These would be attached using dominos and glue. I’m trying to figure out how to make the sides of the panel assembly flat and parallel to each other to make a tight joint with the red side panels.

3. Drawing of the overall project.