Anodizing aluminum

I am going to be anodizing some aluminum. Would anyone be interested in a mini class in aluminum anodizing and dying? I’m not an expert, but willing to share my experience and set up the chemicals and Hardware to get the job done. It is fairly straightforward.

2 Likes

I’m interested!

I am trying to decide whether to be the chemist and buy sulfuric acid from the supply house, be practical and buy drain cleaner made from sulfuric acid, or be a mad scientist and make my own from Epsom salts! My heart says be the mad scientist, but my brain says buy the drain cleaner. I am thinking if we have a group of people, we could make the chemicals in quantity and store them in Home Depot buckets. If everybody has some aluminum parts that are clean and ready to go we could anodized them together. I have purchased a few dyes That are meant for anodizing. I figure start with the good stuff, then we can experiment with things like Rit dye or Printer ink. Anyway it should be fun.

I’m interested as well! I’ve been making some chess pieces on the lathe out of brass and aluminum, but I’m not in love with the difference in weight, so I thought that I could perhaps make them all out of aluminum and anodize them. They probably wont be ready by class time, but the knowledge would be useful.

If this is to be done at the hackerspace for anything other than a one off class this has to have a hosting agreement setup before anything is brought in.
There are a lot of safety and disposal things that need to be addressed in the agreement for something like this.

There are also class requirements that need to be met if you would like to teach a class here, that I can send after Wednesday.

Eric