What do y'all use for vector graphics?

People who work with the (2D) CNCs or laser cutters, what software do you like using to create/edit vector graphics?

I was shocked to learn that not only is CorelDraw still maintained, but they charge $250 a year for it. For that price I might as well get Illustrator.

Does anyone have any thoughts on less pricey options? Affinity Designer is priced more in line with my expectations for hobby use ($50 for a real license), and Inkscape is open source. Are either worth the time investment to learn?

Anybody use fusion360 for 2D work? Getting the free hobbyist license from Autodesk required minimal hoop-jumping, but I haven’t progressed much passed “hello world” tutorials in it yet.

I think Inkspace is painful to use. I’m a big fan of Illustrator.

Inkscape seems to be a big choice of Glowforge users, so theres probably a lot of resources in their forums. Did corel go to Saas model? I bought 2017 and only have to pay if i decide to upgrade

From my knowledge fusion stopped allowing exporting of dwg/svg dxf etc on the personal license last month.
Which sucks

I went in and did a test export of a dxf. I was able to export. I’m on an education license. Hopefully that is the not the reason.

What is the possibility/interest in HS getting a license. Then folks can import their files from home in F360 native format and export dxf.

Or maybe that’s not sufficiently kosher?

Yep, effective 1 October. boo!

https://www.autodesk.com/campaigns/fusion-360-personal-use-changes

Autodesk used to support shared seats, but they don’t anymore. All their products are transitioning to “named user” licensing:

“If Your subscription is described as “single-user,” “individual” or “named user,” then You may only assign such subscription to one (1) of Your Authorized Users. The Authorized User must (i) be identified by a unique user identification (“Autodesk ID”) and (ii) be an individual, not a group or associated with a generic login”