Vinyl Cutter Questions

Frustrated newbie here. I’d like to use the vinyl cutter. I’ve read the wiki. I’ve bought blades AND a blade holder.

The wiki is not particularly friendly to a noob. It talks about software, but it doesn’t say WHAT software one uses, nor does it say where that software is loaded.

I’m sitting next to the USCutter machine right now, the computer that appears to be connected to it has a few different programs installed on it… Corel draw, which asks for a license key when you attempt to run it, Inkscape, but not “Sure Cuts A Lot”, which I think the wiki is implying is the software.

I wouldn’t even begin to guess how to actually send the project to the cutter… I’m guessing it’s set up as a printer maybe?

Is anybody on here able to use the vinyl cutter and also able to give some pointers? If I were pointed in the right direction, I’d be happy to update the wiki to make it a bit more noob-friendly.

2 Likes

I’m sorry! The vinyl cutter hasn’t gotten used a lot lately and hasn’t gotten the kind of love a lot of other machines at the space have. I think @wynd and @jamesfreeman are probably the most familiar/have used it most recently. @JoeN might also be able to help. Hopefully we can get some clearer documentation on this.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply… I’d really appreciate any help to get up and running with it!

1 Like

The last time I used it, I used SCAL on my laptop. Im noy sure what computers at the space are setup with.
This is something that is part of the textiles plan, so it should be figured out soon.

2 Likes

I could bring in a laptop, but I’d still have to figure out how to set up the vinyl cutter on it. I’m sure I could install SCAL on it, too.

It looked to me like the cutter was plugged into a desktop right next to it, but SCAL was not installed, and the wiki wasn’t very forthcoming about how to use it.

I’m happy to provide any feedback needed to make it easier for a newcomer to use it.

Thanks for the reply!