Tips on finishing laser cutting plywood

Hi makers!

I just took my first laser class and made a box, and now I’m thinking about how to finish it. It’s a learning curve and I plan to try different ways to process each stage(gluing, finishing, coating, painting), but was wondering what are some of the typical/popular ways to do so.

• What’s the best way to clean off the burn dust and burn marks? Google told me white vinegar with paper towel could work pretty well? I’m going to sand it too.
• I’m new to woodworking as well, what are some suitable indoor finishes/coatings that protect the piece without adding too much thickness? I’m going to stain it before I coat it. Brush or rag? How long do they last before expiring once opened?
• Have anyone tried to stain it before cutting? Or while they’re still in the sprue?

Appreciate any tips on the subject!

1 Like

Rather than doing a lot of typing, are you coming to the class this afternoon? If so, ill explain what has worked for me. The goods & cons and more specifically your material choice. Sanding may not be an option for you rastered graphic as it appears to be rather superficial ( not deep enough).

2 Likes

I can’t speak to the wood you used but I have found wipe on polyurethane to be a forgiving finish that does not require a lot of skill to apply. Multiple coats (3 to 4) with light sanding (150 grit progressing to 220 grit] between each coat will protect the wood and provide a smooth finish.

If you want to stain the wood first, test the stain to ensure the end result is not blotchy due to to uneven adsorption of the stain. There is a LOT that goes into finishing wood and results can be unreliable - steps, products, skill and of course the wood. The folks at Woodcraft might have classes from time to time.

1 Like