Tarkin: worth the wait

I have taken the early Tarkin training class, and I’ve used it on my own twice now, so I wanted to share some feedback.

For some context, I’m a code monkey by day, and I have too many hobbies, but they’re really just one big hobby: making stuff. I have been using Red and sometimes Blue for several years. That’s my main experience with CNC work, and I haven’t used any other laser cutters. I do a lot of small, odd jobs on the laser, but my favorites are precision fabricating custom hardware for miscellaneous domestic problems. Example: I just designed and cut a bracket to mount a red dot sight on my DSLR camera.

For all of my purposes, Tarkin is better in every way that I hoped for. It’s also better in some ways I hadn’t anticipated. For those of us who haven’t used it yet, and who didn’t know what to expect, I want to share my thoughts so far.

• Hardware specs: awesome. I’m not exactly a laser gearhead, but I think it’s better than Red by every metric?
  • Lightburn: awesome. This solves 95% of my workflow problems with the ULS print driver interface. I learned about the software a few months before hearing that we’d be switching to it, and I’ve been looking forward to that ever since. I just purchased my license.
  • User origin: awesome. This is a CNC user experience improvement that I didn’t know I needed. Instead of the laser head homing to an upper corner (this is the least accessible point on the Red bed, which has been driving me nuts for years), it homes to wherever you want.
  • Bed camera: awesome. Another thing I didn’t know I needed. I do a lot of test cuts on scrap, for both laser settings (hopefully less frequent now) and guess-and-check design finalizing. This makes it so much easier to align repeated small cuts on odd-shaped scrap, without the hassle of trying to keep it EXACTLY in place in the bed.
  • Framing: awesome. I use it less after discovering that the camera works, but it’s still useful.