Sheet metal brake/shear use?

Hello everyone, I’ve seen there is a sheet metal brake and shear combo in the metal shop, I was wondering if there’s a specific class I need to take before being allowed to use it?

Thanks,
Rodolfo

Tagging metal shop folks on this – @mgmoore @SavHarvey @mkmiller6

1 Like

Unfortunately that’s all rather up in the air. We should be getting the BSR combo onto a stand finally soon. We were intending to cover it in a required class, but that class doesn’t exist yet and we don’t have anyone to teach it. Do you have much experience with a brake and shear?

This would be nice for me. How big is the brake?

52" Dayton Sheet Metal Machine - Asmbly Wiki

<3 I look forward to getting to play with it sometime… and it’s a roller. <3

Hi Ethan, I’ve used shears and brakes plenty before so I am comfortable using them, but I am by no means an expert. I’ve only used a roller once, and it has been a long time, so I wouldn’t mind some training on that part of it.

The brake and roll functions really well. The shear has an issue with the spring clamping foot. @mgmoore has been chasing the problem down. I am helping out because Ethan is running short on time. Also it is great to give a hand with projects so we can share the load of work. The clamp doesn’t hold your material for some reason at the moment you need to shear something. I have some springs on the way to help solve the problem.

We are going to try a double spring setup with a nut to set the spring rate. One set of springs that is coming from a $10 Amazon is a bicycle shock. It will probably get returned. Who knows.

The long point of this post is to let everyone know that it is being worked and put into service in the future.