Safe crosscutting on the table saw

Hello. I’m new here, so this may be just a misunderstanding on my part.

I took the woodshop safety class today and the instructor suggested using the table saw fence as a stop for crosscutting. I seem to remember this being bad practice and potentially unsafe due to material possibly binding between the blade and the fence.

We were using the sled, so is this a safe operation since the sled was in use? If so, it might be beneficial to specify that so someone with little experience doesn’t make the leap that any crosscut can be made utilizing the fence as a stop.

Again, with all of this, it could just be something I misheard or didn’t learn correctly in the past, so I figured I’d ask the experts here.

Thanks

I’m no expert but that sounds about right.

I think you can clamp something to the fence and use that as your stop, but the material shouldn’t be touching it as it gets cut.

1 Like

If you use the crosscut sled. You don’t use the fence. You don’t want the fence. You have a lever (your material) that it cantilevered off of the fence.

You can use the fence temporarily to help measure your stock prior cutting. Once you finish measuring with the fence. You would move fence away. Hope this helps

1 Like

If you need to crosscut stock that is longer than the sled is wide, you can rig up an extension fence on the sled. Take another long strip of material and attach it to the sled fence. Then you can attach a stop block to that extension. Place your material and make your cut. Having a sled designed to accommodate extension fences makes this much easier.

This version has a stop block built in.

Here is a good video. Youtube

We should also look at a guard for the table saw. The guard also has a anti kickback pawl. Ace Tool