Questions regarding Orientation and Facility Tour with Bryan

Hello Asmbly!

I am a new member looking to participate in the Orientation and Facility Tour and Woodshop Safety Class coming up this Tuesday with Bryan however, it is full. I am only here a short while, hence I really would love to take the class as soon as possible.

I am currently an Intern Engineer for a company in Austin hence why I am only going to be here for a short while (it could become permanent, too soon to know). I come from Miami, Florida (born and raised) and was a student at the University of Miami (recently graduated).

At the University of Miami, I was the student manager of the machine shop (under supervision of a machinist), I was also the school of architectures lead student supervisor for the woodshop and digital fabrication lab. So as you probably can tell, I desperately need a machine shop as that part of me is currently missing here in Austin. Luckily through a google search on the web, I found this place and let me tell you… This is one of a kind. Nothing like this exists in Miami.

If the class limit is strict and cannot be made an exception, I understand. Figured it didn’t hurt to ask.

Here are some pictures of me in my old machine shop, dearly miss it but it was a great place where I learned so much and became a teacher to so many inspiring people to be Makers!

1 Like

Hey @njacks1! Welcome to Austin! I’m so glad you found us and thanks for taking the initiative to reach out here and share about yourself. Our Membership Coordinator @lisa can do a 1:1 session with you. Just email membership@asmbly.org to set up a time with her. Note that we’re a bit slammed preparing for our big party on Saturday (asmbly.org/party - you should come!) so it might take a little longer than normal for her to reply.