Newbie woodworking advice

Hi! I’m still new to woodworking and need some help planning a project.

I’m looking to build a chair that looks pretty simple but of course, I’m sure there are complexities I’m not considering. How should I go about planning this project? What should I be aware of/consider? Any recommendations for how to do the joints? Youtube links are appreciated :slight_smile:

1 Like

That is a super cool design! Looking at how it appears to have been done, I can’t imagine it actually supporting a person’s weight (unless it’s a person that doesn’t know about Taco Tuesday :joy: :taco: ). There are lots of wood joinery enthusiasts in the shop, so I’ll let those peeps weigh in on that bit, but two random things I’ll contribute:

• I’m imagining one approach to potentially help on the weight bearing front for the seat is to add some steel C channels routed into the wood so it’s only visible if you turn the whole thing upside down. I would think this would need to span across all the seat boards and attach into the front leg and arm/leg. You’d probably also want it to connect and form a square attaching in to the back corner leg as well so you have support on that end of the seat. Maybe that’s over-engineering on my part, but seems like it’s be necessary for this to work well.
  • YouTube video you might find interesting on strength of joints based on joint types – What's the Best Wood Joint || Insanely Strong Joinery! - YouTube

Another thing you might consider is working with @CLeininger on this in a Woodshop Mentor class! He’s a professional woodworker and is providing classes tailored to whatever the student wants to work on. You can find more info in the class description on asmbly.org/classes.

1 Like

Use this project as an excuse to learn the Festool Domino. :slight_smile:
It would apply directly and have long term payback.
This tool is excellent for joinery.

2 Likes