Looking for a 3D scanner

Hello! I am new to the 3D printing world. I have had friends in the past year make and print models for me so I can make plaster molds of them and then use those to make my ceramics. It has worked out really well so far and I am looking forward to taking the 3D printing class at Asmbly and hopefully learning the software myself over the summer. Currently someone is looking to commission something very specific from me that is based on an antique piece. Rather than trying to plaster cast the original and risk damaging it further, it occured to me I could possibly 3D scan it and then print a copy to make the mold from. Do any members here have experience doing this? Have a place they would recommend to go? Perhaps have a scanner at their job or even at their home?! I would really appreciate the help/advice and hope this leads me to some 3D printing savvy community members I can befriend :slight_smile: Currently I just hangout in the woodshop :hammer:

I just saw the “similar topics” bar and see that @bwatt made a scanner?? Did you ever bring it to Asmbly? My piece is small about 2x3 inches and maybe a half inch tall. I can upload a reference picture soon. Please dm me or message me here!

I don’t have a lead on a commercial ‘real’ scanner, but I have used a couple iPhone apps that do an ok job. Perhaps you can try that sort of thing to see what results you might get. If you have one of the ‘Pro’ models they can use the LiDAR sensors in your phone, otherwise they just use photogrammetry to construct a replica. Try Polycam or Scaniverse or MagiScan

How detailed is the piece? Is it intricately carved, or just a flat surface? Can it be modeled instead of scanned?

Alternatively, it could be easier and less risky to first make a silicone mold of it, then a resin cast, then plaster mold of the resin. That way you don’t need to plaster mold directly, and potentially destroy it/the mold by removing it.