If you a) love dogs/pets and b) understand anything about how GPS tracking devices work, I would love to talk to you

Hi.
My name is Kieron, I’m new to Asmbly.

My wife and I started a meetup group for sporting dogs that need a lot of off-leash exercise - Vizslas, Weimaraner, GSPs, any pointer, and…any dog that loves running in a pack and has a nice owner. In 5 years it has grown to 12k+ members across the USA.

In our opinion a GPS tracking device is a must for any dog/pet - the cost is so low, the stress of a pet going AWOL is awful (for pet and owner) and can end in the worst, and completely avoidable, way.

The choice of good GPS trackers presents a challenge - real time tracking with terrible battery life, or great battery life with acceptable but not always reliable tracking that has a 2 minute delay.

I want to understand how GPS trackers work - but I have no expertise in electronics.

I wanted to start by taking apart existing GPS tracker products to reverse engineer and understand the tech.

If anyone has expertise/knowledge and would enjoy taking these things apart with me, let me know.

Would be fun, could save some lives.

Thanks!
Kieron

1 Like

Honestly, thats probably not the right approach to begin with. I mean, yes, youll need to get into the hardware eventually, but the first thing you should do is learn about the mathematics involved. The actual technology is probably not going to be much more than a ready made chip, antenna, and power supply (plus some supporting electronics to connect to a cell phone network). There are youtube videos that can be very helpful in giving you a high level idea of how the tracking works.