I am working on a chicken coop design which can be cut entirely on Tarkin

Designing it for 3/4 in plywood. I have never done cuts that thick on Tarkin before though I know it can. If anyone is interested I will give the files out for free to anyone who gives me a hand or I will probably sell them on Etsy for a few dollars after they are finished for anyone else.

2 Likes

I would suggest to go the CNC ir table saw route. In my experience, I have cut 3/4" plywood in Tarkin but is the baltic birch 5 x 5 (4 x 8 does not work), walnut, and some weird plywood I got from a crate. The cost of the above materials may not be in line for a chicken coop. Basically if the core of the plywood is soft, Tarkin will cut it (except marine plywood). I would not try cutting construction plywood in Tarkin or any laser. The probability of fire or mini pop explosions are rather high. The only uncontrolable fires (an extinguisher is needed) I have seen in a laser have been when people were using construction plywood.

1 Like

The reason I am hesitant to go the CNC route is the kerf of the bit creates a lot of limitations. I would prefer to use typical laser box style joinery for the construction. The smallest bit I would think reasonable for this amount of cutting would be 1/8th in. Also IME the CNC is pretty much never worth the time and effort for a one off. Not sure why you are saying 4 x 8 doesn’t work.

Another alterative is to construct it from 1/2in plywood which I feel would probably still have enough strength. I would have to do some testing. Can always design extra support for key areas

Something to keep in mind. Tarkin does cut thriugh 3/4 plywood, the laser desks are a good example of that.
That being said, a lot of things need to line up properly. The plywood type does matter, the machine needs to be functioning at the top of its game, meaning all mirrors and lenses need to be im good shape, and your settings need to be spot on.