How to skip class requirements if we have previous experience?

Hi, I just started my membership at ASMBLY last week. I was wondering if there was a way for me to skip needing to take the 3D printer class

I’ve been using FDM printers for 5 years, Resin printers for 2 years, and I have actually completely designed an FDM 3D printer from scratch. I have experience with PLA, PETG, TPU, and Nylon (including CF and GF Nylon) and have used multiple slicers and have modeled literally hundreds of models that I print.

Tagging @Devmani as the best person to answer this question

There isn’t really a “skip” you will need to take a short form course and pay a fee for learning how we do the order of operations at the space. However, this is a discussion I need to have with @David on the cost and process as in the past it’s really been at my discretion on how this proceeds. Let me get back to you on that. Keep in mind that our FDM and Resin printers would be two separate courses as they are not covered together in the intro course (the Resin course hasn’t even been formally fleshed out as there are a few processes that need to be refined)

Unrelated to your question, I’d like to start a conversation with you about your experience in 3d modeling @pearlgreymusic and, even better, if you have a portfolio of things you have modeled.

@Devmani

There isn’t really a “skip” you will need to take a short form course and pay a fee for learning how we do the order of operations at the space.

Just for clarification, is there a separate short-form-course or is the 3.5hr one under the “Classes” listing the short-form one? It does make sense that I’d need to learn the particular processes at ASMBLY regarding usage etiquette, schedules, what to do if something breaks (self-diagnose or let ASMBLY handle it), etc, though a condensed course that bypasses the beginner material (types of printers, types of filament, downloading models, etc) would be convenient.