Has anyone built cabinets or cabinet doors?

Thinking of freshening up the kitchen of a home by daughter is buying. Needs TLC.

I’ve been studying YT video for hours and days. Likely just need to build new doors, sand the bases, and repaint all.

I’ve been building cabinets for my house for two years (in between work).
Happy to help in anyway you need.

2 Likes

My very first thought when reading your response was “Oh My Gosh, two years on cabinets.” Maybe I’m biting off more than I can chew…

But I do appreciate your offer. Once I know my daughter’s priorities, if those include cabinets, I may have some questions.

Here’s one: is there a good source of hardwood, plywood, and mdf/hdf you’d recommend?

Thanks, Jim

Two years on a two week project. My failures aren’t the cabinets fault.

Depending on the style you’re going for
plywood (look for combi-core where possible.

Dakota Hardwoods has plywood a little cheaper and a really good selection. I usually buy from Fine Plywood and Lumber though, because they’re closer to my house. Brazos carries some exotic stuff.

MDF will make a nice painted cabinet. You can buy that from any of the above stores as well. Or even Lowe’s/Home Depot

1 Like

Thanks. I’m planning to update the kitchen look by sanding and painting the old cabinets and creating new doors with hidden hinges. All painted surfaces.

Thanks for providing the Austin wood product sources. Exactly what I need.

By hidden hinges I assume you mean Euro Hinges. I recommend soft-close hinges. You need to know the overlap distance of the doors to the frame before buying them.

Looking at the image you posted, there are some really wide doors there. I would recommend creating double doors for openings over 24 inches. Wide doors tend to warp.

1 Like

+1 on soft close hinges. And figuring out the gaps to get the right hinges is A Whole Thing™️, but worth the time. Folks at Rockler were helpful to me when I was buying soft close replacements for mine

1 Like