Form2 Gray Resin Low

How do I get more Gray Resin added to one of the Form2s? It says it’s low and can’t print my model. Is that something I need to do, and if so, where do I find the supply of resin to fill it or do what is needed. I’m new to the resin printers. I don’t see anything on the Wiki.

1 Like

@Devmani or @fixinit - any suggestions?

Resin has to be purchased from formlabs. There isn’t a way to refill the current cartridge that the space subscribes to.

I haven’t been able to get a successful print out of either printer recently. We aren’t low on grey resin, as I have emptied the tray, cleaned it out, and refilled it with new resin from the cartridge with plenty left over. The Form2 printers are at end of life. The next step would be to replace them with a single Form3 printer ($2500-3000 with consumables). We also need to re-think the $.40/ml resin price as that’s nearly 3-4x cost and has probably kept people from using the printers historically. I’m also in favor of offering a cheaper/shorter crossover class to existing/experienced FDM printers. I mention all of the non-technical issues here because at the moment, it sounds like there isn’t much managerial support for replacing the Form2 due to the low historical use. If the powers that be can foresee a higher demand than has existed in the past, it would support getting a new printer. However, it’s hard to generate much demand, even with new resin prices and class structure when the existing printers don’t work. If I have misread the winds, please let me know.

Thank you for your responses. And it makes me sad to hear what you said.

I’m no longer trying to use CalmLlama because it looks and feels and says it’s empty. So I’ll ignore the refill problem for now. Moving on.

Then I have another problem. This time with SkittyDinosaur…