Complete newbie! Need help on a necklace project (ATLA betrothal necklace)

Hi everyone! This is my very first post on here! Still getting a little used to everything. Also, just to clear up I am not actually proposing to my girlfriend with this necklace, the inspiration for the necklace comes from an animated show called Avatar the Last Airbender and in the show it’s supposed to be a betrothal necklace.
So as the title says, I am a complete newbie, I have no experience with crafting or creating beautiful projects like I’ve been seeing on so many posts. However, I am eager to learn! I want to make a necklace for my girlfriend. Our anniversary is coming up around May 20th but I’m not sure where to start or any technicalities. My first instinct is to use the laser cutter, but that might be limited to wood only. Or get some of the base work done with the laser cutter and then add additional details with other material, like metals and stone.
I’m hoping someone can help guide me in the right direction! Any advice is more than welcome and helpful!
Here are some pics of the necklace for reference, the first one (animated picture) is the original inspiration for the necklace. I have some ideas for minor adjustments to the carvings on the face of the necklace to make it more personalized. Ideally, I would like to make it with stone, but I would also be more than happy to make it with wood. Primarily I just want it to be durable and last a lifetime!

OG katara necklace

Welcome!

Nifty idea. One thing to consider is using the lasers to cut acrylic.

1 Like

Could do a clear flat-bottom glass cabochon and laser engraver the bottom