CNC Peg Furniture

Been having a lot of fun in the shop recently working on baltic birch furniture! I’m a structural engineer by trade and have been trying out utilizing rectangular peg joinery to make end tables, night stands and desks. The CNC in the shop is incredible, feel like I am just now figuring out the right settings - I’ve been using an 1/8” compression bit to cut 3/4” baltic in 2 passes, and I’m doing 1/2” miter folds with a 2” diameter 90 degree V bit in a single pass. It’s a load of fun and a bit of a workout hitting all the pegs together with a mallet! Appreciate the good feedback and advice from folks in the shop. Very happy Asmbly has such a good setup and industry-grade equipment.

11 Likes

Amazing work! Thanks for sharing pictures

1 Like

Thanks! No problem

Alex

That’s some aggressive machining. Can you share the V bit you use and the feeds and speeds?

It’s a Keentech V-Groove 90 degree V-Bit, 2" diameter with a 1/2" shank. I’ve been running the spindle speed at 18,000 rpm, 40 in/min feed rate and a 14 inch/min plunge rate. So far only cutting a 1/2" max. per pass and it’s doing it no problem at 1.0 speed climb cuts. I just run a 2D profile toolpath on the line - Also keep in mind that the Laguna Swift sometimes has a speed scale applied to the run that can be adjusted using the y+ button on the controller… I ran into issues before on V-bits not running paths with enough speed before, and because the speed scale was down at 70% I was getting burn marks. I’ve been running everything at the 1.0 speed scale and no problems yet.