Any interest in showing me/teaching a class on basic sewing machine use/simple alterations?

I have a few basic cotton/blend tank tops that I need to take in but I don’t know even the basics of using a sewing machine. I know there’s a whole area in the Hackerspace with a sewing machine and I wondered if there was anyone who had even moderate skills who would be willing to guide me (obviously I would compensate for your time and expertise) or lead a short class on how to use/common issues with a sewing machine.

2 Likes

I am a complete newbie to sewing and have no clue what I’m doing as far as alterations and/or common issues, but I did try to play with the Juki sewing machine we have a couple of months ago. I can show you the VERY basics like how to thread the thread, change the needle, wind and load the bobbin, and change the stitch size, but that’s about it. Someone with more experience would definitely be preferable but if there are none I can show you the ropes to get you started playing around with it. (I’m not just being humble or anything, the only thing I’ve ever sewed were some bad looking masks earlier last year haha)

1 Like

Here’s the manual for our particular machine, if you’re interested in flipping through. Its the LU-562 Model

1 Like

Thank you! I’ll check that out. Even learning the basics would be helpful, I don’t think I’ve come in physical contact with a sewing machine in the last 10+ years. Let me know when is convenient if the offer stands.

Hi Ela and Adam,

If you’re able to wait a few days, I can give a quick introductory class. There are definitely members far more knowledgeable than I am, but I can at least get you started with first principles and basic fashion/alteration sewing.

Evan

That would be great!