Shop use for a Shapeoko?

I have a Shapeoko 3 (standard size) that I’ve been using and slowly precision-icizing now for ~3 years. Both of the main side rails were taken to a machine shop and cut to be exactly the same length long, I upgraded the Z-axis to their HDZ (high rigidity) setup, and upgraded the wasteboard to the T-Track kit.

I have used it to mill larger pieces of 7075, and apparently it is good enough to do 303 or more if your careful. Allegedly.

Anyway, I was talking to some people tonight and it sounds like there’s some discomfort moving from the mini-mill to the Tormach. I have a lot of complaints about the Shapeoko, but one thing that it’s done for me is help me understand the mistakes you can make (while in a low risk, slow moving Shapeoko environment). “Oh, that’s what cuts look like if the Z-axis isn’t trammed.” “Oh, that’s what happens when your tool is deep in a slot, and the machine is told to go to zero without retracting the Z axis all the way first.” Etc.

It has been a great tool to learn what happens when you make mistakes. I’m not sure that there’s much use for it beyond that though. Both the mini-mill and the Tormach would be better to use (by miles?) if you know how to use them.

So, with all that being said, would the shop have much use for it? I’m guessing “no”, but I’ve guessed “no” in the past with other things here and have been wrong.

Again, I just see it as an educational tool for metal CNC-ing. It’s probably quite practical for wood stuff, but I’ve never used it for that myself.

2 Likes

I 100% agree. I wonder if its the challenge of CNC in general or “big boy” metal milling. I’ve found that my (dozens) of hours on a CNC router an (countless) hours on a 3D printer have given me enough mental model of what’s about to happen that it minimizes the variables of what can go wrong on the Tormach. Perhaps we should encourage the Tormach not to be your first or only CNC experience?

3 Likes